Skip to content

Cerne Historical Society

Posted in Members

A thriving local historical society which meets monthly to listen to a speaker usually on a topic linked to Dorset. The Society also arranges visits to sites of historical interest and undertakes a range of projects including: a geophysical examination of the old Abbey site, house histories, living history – recorded interviews with local “legends”.

Website address

www.cerneabbashistory.org

How to join and Membership costs

Membership costs £7.50

Website enquiries to Andrew Popkin on 01300 341084.

General enquiries to Mike Clark, chairman, 01300 341269.

General details of meetings

Meetings take place monthly at 7.30 p.m. in Cerne Abbas Village Hall, always on a Thursday – usually the 4th in the month. Non-members are welcome, entrance £3.00.

Events

Thursday 26th January 2017- AGM

Thursday 23rd February- The Lost Village of Tyneham: Paul Fancy

Thursday 23rd March- The Roman Army in Dorset: Finds, Facts and Fiction: John Smith

Thursday 27th April- Dorchester and its Brewery: The Life and Times of Eldridge Pope: Jeremy Pope

Thursday 25th May- Beatrice: A Kingston Lacy Housemaid: David Smith

Thursday 22nd June- The Geology of Cerne Abbas and its Influence on the Character of the Village (Guided walks to follow): John Charman

Monday 10th July- Joint visit with CASH to Wells: Bishop’s Palace and Gardens plus Cathedral

Thursday 28th September- The Dissolution of the Monasteries, 1536 to 1540: George Bernard

Thursday 26th October- Milestones and other Waymarkers around Dorset: Mike Faherty

Thursday 23rd November- The Bristol Slave Trade: Mick Atkinson

Thursday 25th January 2018- AGM

BACK TO DIRECTORY